Close Enough

Standing alone atop lush green grass 
Under a civilization of stars 
I release a sigh and wonder why 
This tourist inside never departs 
And the moon close enough to touch 

Oh, lovely empty 
Lovely love me 
Oh, my precious essence 
Thrive despite me 
Incite me 

I have an instrument in my hand 
Which I present to the heavens 
An attempt to sanctify and override 
The chaotic rational severance 
And the moon close enough to touch 

A summer wind rushes under my knuckles 
My hands are restlessly still 
Television mind horrified and terrorized 
Interrupting the execution of truthful will 
And the moon close enough to touch 

Oh, lovely empty 
Lovely love me 
Oh, my precious essence 
Thrive despite me 
Incite me 

The creek nearby rushes along 
Blanketed by celestial design 
They turn us hollow and we follow 
The universe sighs at beauty resigned 
We resign 
We resign 
Don’t resign 
With the moon close enough to touch 

About mw2828

I am a writer currently working out of the New York area. https://mythandmist.wordpress.com/ View all posts by mw2828

2 responses to “Close Enough

Leave a Reply

