The Perceiver Deceived Indeed

 

In the deep, dusky 
Light of winter 

Thru the pale, ghostly snow 
Settled beside the churchyard 

My eyes believe 
The perceiver deceived indeed 

Oh, what do I view 
Through the fluorescent lights 
Guiding a lonely way 

My beloved friend, you lead me ahead 
Where shall we vanish tonight? 
We are so real and unseen 

Breathe, and eye the text messages 
Glowing from the screen, the letters almost 
Feel warm, like running free in another’s dream 

And my eyes believe 
The perceiver deceived indeed 

Take everything I ever felt 
And the words I said 
My company provided to a chair 

Lose the memories that are trapped 
In the tangled vines underneath 
The love in front of us 
We can never find 

I long to be with you 
My dear friend, you are guiding me ahead 

While my eyes believe 
The perceiver deceived indeed

 
About mw2828

I am a writer currently working out of the New York area. https://mythandmist.wordpress.com/ View all posts by mw2828

Leave a Reply

