Melanie

Midnight

On the orange street

Under the paper moon

The white screen

Owned your eyes

They told you the news

The news about you

Now you have to hate me

Don’t you?

But allow me a few lines

_Listen_

All you do is try to impress them

But it’s just a shard of you

A convincing image

Like

That shattered champagne glass

On the cement

I really liked you, Melanie

But until now

I never had the words to tell you

Time and only time

Reveals every lie

And your condescension

Is like condensation

Naturally occurring

Coming and fading

Water between the webs of my fingers

Then steam filtering through this bullshit bar

A cute magic trick

Performed to elicit my embarrassment

And accumulate their merit

They like it when city kids

Whore themselves before the neon altar

And confirm their suspicion

So they feel free

To educate me about my identity

Yet you’re above it, Melanie

Above the cardboard sunglasses

And clothes with commands

But when I play ignorant

You encourage me with promises

Then grind your teeth when I have an opinion

It’s all so fucking inconvenient

Like this conversation

Under the paper moon

On the orange street

Outside the bullshit bar

Look away, will you?

My love look away from that screen

About mw2828

I am a writer currently working out of the New York area. https://mythandmist.wordpress.com/ View all posts by mw2828

Leave a Reply

